Canada at TIFF

Last night was pretty great, despite being so tired and sore.  I almost didn’t make it on time, actually.  It felt like everything was against me for a bit there.  It was a familiar sensation.  But I got there, just in time, and settled into our spot on the red carpet for TIFF’s Canada party.  Once talent started arriving, things got crazy busy and the time flew by.  We had some good interviews; many with people we knew, many more with people we didn’t.  All of it went rather smoothly, for the most part, but far and away my favourite responses came from literally every person of whom we asked the question, “What does Canada/being Canadian mean to you?”

I love the sense of humble pride that everyone expressed in this country, and that they all had similar yet different answers made me very happy.  Also maple syrup.

It was very cool, especially coming just days after people across the country were shooting footage for Canada In A Day.  It was excellent timing.

After a couple of hours of Periscoping interviews, it was time to head in and join the growing party.  So much Canadian awesomeness in one room is always a good thing, and while I haven’t really been to other TIFF parties, I am pretty sure this one would be a favourite.  Beer and cider and poutine and a freaking wine and chip tasting bar?  Come on!  The music was amazing and had everyone up on the dance floor.  Well, a lot of people, at least.  I’m more the observe from the sidelines type.

There was even a particular someone I was observing more than most, which was cool.

I haven’t done that in a long time.  Maybe being lonely but remembering when I wasn’t has its advantages.

Leave a Reply

