Mind Reels Updates

mindreels43

Okay guys, there’s probably other stuff I should talk about, but I just can’t seem to focus on much else today, so I’ll babble a bit about what’s on my mind. Vaguely, anyway.

Tim and I had a sort of “production meeting” last night with our producer/man behind Smithee.TV, Ryan. The conversation was long overdue, and since I know how easy it is for us to get off track, I spent some time in advance making notes about some of the points we needed to hit, both in that and in future conversations.

Including the fact that there will need to be future conversations, if we want to stop this whole stagnating thing that we’ve been doing this year.

We actually managed to hit most of the really important points I’d wanted to get to last night, which is a very good thing, and I think everyone left the meeting feeling pretty confident in our abilities to start getting back on our feet as early as next week.

We came up with an initial list of potential guests to reach out to (some that were already on my budding list, and some new ones, as well), and made a basic plan of attack as far as how we intend to shoot episodes from now on. The format will change, at least as far as video is concerned, but we will shoot the whole thing live, and the full long version will still be posted on iTunes. We’re working on ways to get both video and audio content posted much faster, as well as a general posting schedule we’re hoping to follow. Naturally, the actual shoot times and dates will have to be formed around guest availability, but with any luck, new content will be posted regularly, and a few times a week, which would be amazing.

Promoting content, and the show, and the channel will hopefully get better and more regular/frequent, as well. I wish I had more time in the day to market things and pursue things but if I can manage to upgrade my home tech soon, too, then I’ll be able to do a lot more from there, which would be a huge help. I’m still working on getting the rest of the Guinness clips up, for Pete’s sake!

There are technical things we need to learn to do for ourselves – setting up the Livestream link and promoting it ahead of time for each episode, getting the segments cut properly and adding credits, getting both video and audio cuts ready to upload to the channel’s YouTube and iTunes accounts. Stuff that will go much faster when it doesn’t all rest on the shoulders of one person to do it all, especially when they’re doing every other show on the channel, as well.

We also had some initial conversations about different kinds of content that Tim and I want to add to our show, instead of just doing interviews. We love doing interviews, and are hoping to get back to doing one a week, if possible, but we’ve been thinking of adding in even more fun things on top of our usual fare! Ryan liked all three ideas that we pitched to him last night, and I’ve talked to Tim briefly this morning (because I couldn’t stop thinking about when I got home, so naturally I did a little digging around online and managed to find a few things to get us started), so now we’re both excited about the possibility of getting at least two of those things started as early as next week, too!

There’s also the upcoming Reelie Awards show that we’ll need to start prepping for in a few weeks, once all the rounds of voting are over. It won’t be enormous, by any stretch, as it’s our first awards show, but it should be fun, and with any luck, we’ll have a few familiar faces helping us announce the winners in each category! It’s definitely cool to see fans and nominees get involved in the voting process, so it’ll be interesting to see how it all plays out for this first awards show episode.

I wonder if Tim will wear a tie. Or if I will. We should probably dress up for the occasion, right?

I think I’m definitely forgetting something, but I want to be careful not to say too much yet until closer to the time of reveal, and am already distracted by some of the details.

OH! I’ve also started sending out my own guest interview requests again. I was doing it all the time before, but lately haven’t felt confident in our ability to really devote time to building up the Mind Reels’ audience again, so I’ve just been leaving it alone so far this year, for the most part. However, I re-worked our pitch letter a bit over the past week, and made a list of people I wanted to approach sooner rather than later, so with the exception of the people we discussed contacting during our meeting last night, I started sending out requests for a few today on my own.

With luck, you’ll be seeing us back in the studio on a regular basis very soon!

Stay tuned!!!

Leave a Reply

