Re-Zoo-Venation

Okay guys, full disclosure.  I had an amazing day – but I am totally wiped, and fully distracted by this interesting beverage concoction I’ve created and the Survivor episode of Price is Right I am watching on my PVR.

So this will be short.

Today was the first day of my 4-day vacation, and my plan was to go to the zoo, weather permitting.  I knew rain was called for, but it wasn’t expected to be a wash-out of a day, so I took a chance and went.  The construction guys (aka Doozers) outside my window start sawing concrete blocks at 7am, so it’s not like I can go back to bed after Brody and I go out for a walk.  May as well stay up and be productive.

Or, in the case of today, go for some much needed animal therapy.

I was grumpy when I arrived, because there were throngs of school groups at the gate, which made for a long wait to see panda cubs for a very short period of time.  But the little fools are growing up without me, and I can’t abide that, so I made sure to see them first.  A walk through the Eurasian Wilds calmed me right down, though, as I had the whole place almost entirely to myself.

Up next was some time with baby girl Juno.  Er…Private Juno.  There were several people there, but not too crazy, and the best thing about little kids is how quickly they get bored and move on.  The second best thing is that they are short and I can shoot over them.  Also, the kid was putting on a show – a clinic in adorableness – and from there, the rest of my day just stayed on a high note.

Baby lynx…oh my word.  Grizzly bears playing in their pool in the rain.  White lion cubs who I haven’t seen in months – so big now!  Until they stand next to dad, Fintan, of course.  My faves, the gorilla troop – some high drama there with Johari and Nassir battling one another for a gorilla stuffie they were given to play with.  Baby girl Nneka got involved, too!  And when did she and Nassir get so much bigger than I remember them being?!

Throw in a hot dog, Steve’s arrival after his shift was over, Dairy Queen, more time with the Lynx babies and finishing off our day in the company of Asha and young Nandu and being kissed by the sun…it was perfect.

I had to grab a couple of quick things on the way home, and all told was gone for about 12 hours.  Whaaat?  That was twice as long as I’d expected, but totally worth it.  I am exhausted yet rejuvenated at the same time.  I have no words.  And…totally distracted, as I said.

More soon!

Leave a Reply

