Coming Up

Since I apparently shouldn’t talk about what I want to talk about, I’ll discuss something entirely different, instead.  I did, however, make a pretty big decision all by myself, and while it wasn’t what I’d thought it would be, I still say YAY ME!

Tim and I (aka The Mind Reels) are going into the studio tonight for the first time in 2016! The last time we were in there was with guest Robin Dunne, and while we shot the episode back in mid-December, it still has not been posted yet, because no one has the time to focus on the channel yet.

Which is unfortunate, and frustrating, because it feels like we can’t ever seem to get going. Even tonight, while we’ll get excited about it closer to the time, so far today it just feels like another thing we have to do before we can sleep! Haha

It’s as though the lack of team enthusiasm from everyone at the channel is making it seem more like work than fun. Actually, that’s not even it, I don’t think. I feel like every little step has been a struggle lately, and that we’re failing to capitalize on things that should have been driving us forward (Guinness World Record, panel moderations at conventions, etc). And maybe it’s just because it’s winter, or because there is so much else going on in everyone’s lives, but it also seems like, once we stop, it’s hella hard to get going again.

And yet, I’m still excited. I still have little thoughts and plans and ideas for things to do and try. Even aside from continuing to get the rest of the GWR event footage posted, there are ideas for a new and enormous attempt at re-breaking the thing again at some point in the not-too-distant future. If we could get a team on board, either via the channel or just a group of people we can work with. And it would of course depend on the guidelines as they stand now, because I’m not sure they are the same as they were when we first made our attempt.

I have an insanely huge list of people I want to have in as guests for The Mind Reels – a lot of people from our Guinness attempt whom we’d never spoken to before, and would love to have in again. Also several new and returning guests who have things on the go these days that we’d like to talk about.

In addition, we’re still applying for media accreditation for everything that we love – The Canadian Screen Awards, Toronto Comicon, The Screenwriting Conference, and a slew of other things coming up later in the year. There are even some new things I’d like to try covering, if we’re able. Branch out a little bit.

Basically, I still want to do more, not less, than we’ve done in the past. I want to keep growing our brand, and building a larger presence for ourselves.

On top of that, there are my own personal side projects that are also growing bit by bit. There’s just not enough time – or I haven’t been able to make enough time in recent months, is probably more like it.

I need a stay-cation. Maybe then I could get myself going on some of these things with more energy and enthusiasm that I am currently exhibiting.

Until then, though, I decided, like, yesterday, to treat everything else like this blog. Bit by bit, every day. I’ll try to do a little of something each day, and my suspicion is that it will snowball, and grow more and more as I go along.

I can not wait for that!

Leave a Reply

