YouTube

Betty White just turned 94 years old, and while I know we’ll lose her someday, there’s a part of me that just can’t accept it, and will probably refuse to let go. I’ll brace myself for the inevitable (unless, like her character Elka on Hot in Cleveland, she actually is immortal), but in the meantime, I’ll continue to love and enjoy the hell out of her as much as possible.

I put it on my buket list that I wanted to meet her, or at least be in the live studio audience for HiC, but the show got cancelled right after I realized how badly I wanted it (that and visiting Hudson the polar bear cub were what prompted the bucket list making in the first place), so apparently that’s not going to happen. At least not any time soon.

I’ll just have to continue watching her and getting to know her online, and through the experiences of others. I wish I could be half as wonderful at my age, as she is at her age now. I mean, geez! The lady has more life and zest in her than most of us, which is possibly why I have a hard time imagining her gone. I suspect she’ll hang out with all the animals and make people laugh in the afterlife, too. Maybe that’s where I’ll finally meet her, if I am good and lucky.

So what does all that have to do with YouTube, you ask?

Well…not much, to be honest. But it was Betty’s birthday that made me decide to write this post today. I made her a video awhile ago, to celebrate her lifelong love of the animal kingdom. I had visions of it going viral and her seeing it and basically allowing it to bring joy to everyone, so I posted it on my personal YouTube channel. It got some love, but not as much as I’d hoped, and I’m fairly sure I’m responsible for half the views, because I actually really freaking love it! I’d suspected that someone else would have thought to make it, and would have done it better and with the proper editing tools, but I couldn’t find one, so maybe I’m just that awesome, too.

You can watch it and feel the love here, if you want.

The first video I ever uploaded to this account was a clip from the Browncoat Cruise in 2007. I’d wanted to share it with friends I’d met on the cruise – and one in particular – so I posted it on YouTube and then just shared the link around.

After that, I started posting all of the Conjoined Twins of Terror videos – starting with the application video to the Evil League of Evil (Dr Horrible), the gag reel from that initial concept, and then a few others that we just did for fun.

From there, I started posting clips from high school performances I had on VHS so people could watch them and reminisce about our mad acting and music skills, and later decided to include my epic Valeditory Address.

Then, in February 2012, the zoo videos began to appear – mostly of Hudson. I remember it was my second time going to see him, and I knew before I got there that I intended to video the little goofball. I just kind of never stopped after that. There are a lot of Hudson videos…and some other zoo critters I love.

There’s the awesome Star Trek Screen Test my friends and I did when we were at Universal Studios on Spring Break one year. I’m the Vulcan, of course.

There’s a terrible quality recording of an O Canada video made during the 1992 Barcelona Olympics that still pretty much makes me cry when I watch it.

There are some promo videos for The Mind Reels Guinness World Record Attempt (posted before I made a separate channel for the event itself), a talking butt crack spotted in McDonald’s one day, and a fake audition reel for a role in The Hobbit.

All in all, there’s a bunch of little bits of me captured on video and assembled on my YouTube channel. Since this is an Inventory Of Everything, I felt maybe it was time to share some of the highlights with you before I end up adding more stuff!

Leave a Reply

